Laia’s Reflections – SWEDEN

Hi, I’m Laia, and I’m 15 years old. I’m the Catalan student in this blog, and I could say that staying in Sweden was one of the best experiencies I’ve ever had. At the beginning I was very nervous and excited at the same time, especially because I didn’t know how the host family would be, but all of them were so kind and I felt very comfortable to stay with, like if I knew them for a long time.

The first days in the school I was so surprised of the students in general because they are all polite and the Swedish’ schoolsystem is very different to the Catalan one. A clearly diference between Sweden and Spain is the free education, plus their school subjects, timetables, etc.

I liked the big city called Malmö and Lund too, thay had a very great environment. And I also liked the little but wonderful villages: Dalby and Torna Hällestad, despite that aren’t very big, they have their own enchantress.

With my partner, Minna, I spent amazing moments: we went horseback riding in her stable, we prepared some typical Swedish sweets, or even eating lots of Fika with her and other students, which I liked so much. She was so friendly and I just want to thank her and her family to take care of me the best way they can, I’m very grateful with them.

Finally, I just want to say that this journey has to be repeated, it was an incredible week with incredible people.

Laia MartĂ­ Serra

Leave a comment